Rutgers Women’s crew began as a club sport in 1974. In 1977, it was elevated to varsity status.
In his 1986 news letter, Bill Wilber ’73 wrote:

“During the past 10 years, there have been a number of accomplishments from the rowing program that we can all be proud of.  First and foremost was the birth of a women’s rowing program that quickly evolved over the course of  few years from a club sport, that practiced at 6 a.m. in the morning; that practiced and raced in equipment borrowed from the men’s heavyweight program; that competed against a mix of crews ranging from high schools to ivy league universities; to a varsity sport that practiced at a civil hour of the day; that competed in new Schoenbrod racing shells; and competed successfully against the best universities on the east coast.

Much of the credit for the program goes to people like: Anu Koiv for her persistence in trying to get a women’s program at Rutgers; Bill Leavitt for his efforts to provide facilities for a fledgling program; RIta Kay Thomas and the Athletic Department for their support and encouragement; Ted Pytlar who provided leadership and outstanding coaching; and friends like Ethyl Taub who contributed the first racing shell for the woman’s program.  The women’s program has had some shaky racing seasons that would be expected of any new program, and it has had some very strong seasons distinguished by crews medaling in National Championships”

Women’s head coaches have included: Ted Pytlar, Steve Wagner, Joe Canino, Rick Ricky, Andy Teitlebaum and Max Borghard.